19.11.07

I’ve decided that I’ll probably just date most of my entries. Not very original, I know, but I’ve never been great with titles. Some of my photos suffer for lack of a good name.

We had indoor netball again last night, and we weren’t as sloppy as last week, but there is still ALOT that we need to work on. I think I am transforming my role from Captain to Captain/Coach. Which I don’t mind at all, but I don’t know anything about strategy’s for indoor netball as opposed to outdoor. Indoor is a lot like basketball, and I suspect it is very close to the original game. I don’t know much at all about the history of netball, so I’m going to research that right now. Then I can talk here all full of knowledge as opposed to full of bullshit.

Ok here is what I found out about netball, and I was right in my assumption – it is derived from basketball, hence the major similarities in indoor netball which is quite different to outdoor.

Netball is a non-contact sport derived from basketball. Interestingly enough it originated in The United States as “Women’s Basketball” but as far as I know, it’s not widely played there at all. It is most popular in New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka and the United Kingdom.

The rules of basketball had to be modified when women took an interest as their outfits meant they didn’t have as much free range of motion as the men. So running and dribbling were ruled out, and now there is no “stepping” in netball.

Still in 1895, Clara Baer, a teacher from New Orleans realized there were no hard and fast rules for netball. Some games were played with 9 players, while others with 5. She borrowed the rules of basketball and mistakenly thought that scribblings on the diagram of the court were zoning lines, and so she set the zones as we use them today.
In 1901 these rules were ratified and netball officially became a competitive sport, however it was still several years before regular competitions were held.
The first Netball World Championships were held in in 1963 and hosted by England. Australia has dominated the Championships winning in 1971, 1975, 1979, 1983, 1991, 1995 and 1999. New Zealand finally broke the trend when they took home the gold in 2003, but in November of this year (last week in fact) Australia took the title back in a finale against the defenders playing on their home ground.
Fiji were scheduled to host the 2007 World Netball Championship in July but were striped of that right as a result of the December 2006 coup.

(I was going to stop there but it’s all too interesting – well for me)

In Australia and New Zealand it is the most popular womens sport and both countries have a national competition. The women’s game is played at a high international level with Australia and New Zealand undoubtedly the world’s strongest teams.
While they remain relativly unknown there are men’s representative teams too. While the women’s version requires skill and technical prowess men tend to use their height and strength to their advantage.

In the Netherlands and Belgium a similar game called Korfball is played having 4 men and 4 women in a team.

Ok, I really will stop now. I think tomorrow I will highlight the differences between indoor and outdoor netball.

If I had been asked to write an essay on Netball in English, I might have done better.

Leave a Reply

