Work Christmas Party (part 1)

Now, in my brief work history I’ve been to a few Work Christmas Parties, and in general, I like them, I have a good time, and I wish the next day that I hadn’t drunk that much.

There was one year I was the only employee to work the day after. It was a Saturday and I managed the shop for the business. Sometimes it was busy, most of the time, it was dead.

We went out that night to the night trots. They had free beer and wine, a meal, and dancing after races had finished. Alcohol for me seems to be something that loosens my tongue. It’s like it’s not me. I talk a lot. I dance (which isn’t all that bad, I do like dancing, and I dance, I don’t stumble on the floor).
I also do dumb things.
I’m not a smoker, but I was outside with Thomas and Peter at BFs 21st. Thomas ran inside and gave Peter his ciggy. Peter was smoking it, but bum puffing, not properly and it was pissing off my drunk mind. So I grabbed it off him and showed him how to smoke properly. For someone who doesn’t smoke it came surprisinly easy. I’m not saying I have NEVER smoked, I tried it once or twice in high school and it just didn’t sit right with me. I still don’t understand why people do that.
Anyway, as I was showing Peter how to do it, BF came out and saw me and got really upset. REALLY upset. He doesn’t drink, so he was totally sober, and it wasn’t the drunk upset which was a bit over the top I think. I don’t know how I managed to do it, but well, I was talking a lot and he calmed down and let me share his bed (how nice of him).

So at this particular Christmas party I was drinking my fair share and dancing, and bugging one of the work guys to dance with me. oooh the shame. I would never had badgered like that under normal circumstances. AND THEN when we were on the way home, and I realised he hadn’t danced I hit him. A friendly hit, but we weren’t friends enough that I should have done that. I’m way to friendly when I’m drunk. The next morning I paid for it. I was so sick. I was so tried. I still had to get up and work. I didn’t actually do much work that day, and the boss didn’t mind. Well neither of them (husband and wife) showed their faces after I went to work.

I have learnt that it’s not a good idea to have your photo taken when you are drunk.

We had our Christmas party for work on Saturday night…

Leave a Reply

