Camping with the girls

From the 2nd of Jan till the 6th myself and 3 other girlfriends went camping on Waiheke Island. We took the car over on the car ferry, and spent days lying in the sun, swimming in the insanely sallow beach, eating over priced food, drinking over price alcohol, and being lazy. I slathered myself with sunscreen and hardly ate much at all. Mostly because I didn’t have much money, which was a blessing in disguise.

On the 2nd day T’s parents came around in their boat and took us out for a lunch time cruise. We parked up nice nd deep and jumped off the top. Took the dog in the water and swam with flippers and goggles. A boat pulled up next to us and asked if we had some spare petrol. They had a leak and couldn’t make it back to land. We passed on some petrol and let them have it free despite their offers of payment. Told them to pay it forward. That’s the best thing ever. It makes me feel good when I can help someone out and not accept payment. I like to think of it as karma. I know I get that from mum, she’s a real believer of the karma stuff.

When we got back from Waiheke I was disapointed and pissed off to walk into the apartment and find bf still asleep (at 12.30) and the place in an absolute mess. His words were “I was gunna do it” but that’s his middle name. I was gunna. He never acutally does. Becuase he doesn’t care about things like Valentines Day, he thinks I don’t. He never even asked me, he just said.

I think I may be falling out of love with him. A month ago the thought scared the shit out of me.

But now, I think it’s just the natural progression of things. I work during the day, and he works during the night, and we can go 3 or 4 days without seeing each other despite living in the same house. He doesn’t make an effort either. I have talked to him and asked that he makes an effort, that we act like a young couple, not like an old married couple. But without my nagging it’s not happening. And I don’t want to nag. I know that asking him those things isn’t a total impossible ideal because I know others where it’s not an impossibility. A surprise now and then would be nice. But… I don’t expect mircles.

And I think I’ll be battling the computer forever.

I don’t know what to do.

One thought on “Camping with the girls

  1. Em says:

    I think the scariest and most destructive thing that happens to us as humans is that we get comfortable. Being comfortable stops us from taking chances and doing things that could maybe make us happy.

    We are so afraid of changing the status quo because we are scared of what we might lose and not excited about what we can gain.

Leave a Reply

