national anthem

Can you tell it’s All Black’s season? I seem to have something to say after most games. Although the game was last Saturday and it is now Thursday in Missmw land.

I love watching the Haka at the start of the game. We all do. We turn on surround sound, have it way up high and enjoy that short little time where our boys lay down the challenge to their oponents. And most of the time they can’t stand up to the challenge. Unless it is an important game (i.e. the world cup) and then we seem to buckle under the pressure. I have faith though. I think all it will take for us to win the World Cup is to play the games on home soil and have the home crowd backing them. It is for this reason that I know the All Blacks will win the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

Anyway, I have deviated from the point. The point is that in primary school every Friday morning we filed into the school hall (which was only a couple of years old by the time I left – before that, we had assembly in the cold) and sat in our house groups. My house was Tui – the others were Weka, Kaka and Kiwi. We always started with the national anthem. It wasn’t the  usual one though, the version we did had a Maori call at the start, then it launched into the Maori version, and then the English one. I loved it. I love singing in general even though I sometimes hit the wrong notes. My ex who is a singer and musician loved to tell me that I would sing a song, hit a wrong note, and just transpose the whole song to sign in the wrong key. I take that as rather talented.

When I watch the start of international sports games and I see our boys singing the national athem with pride on their face it makes me in turn feel so so proud of our country. What disapoints me is when they aren’t singing or when they are singing half-heartedly. Take pride! Sing loud!

Leave a Reply

